Congratulations to our 2023 Faculty of Science AAA Award Recipients!

Each year the Dean of Science in consultation with the department heads decide the recipients of these awards. They were announced at our final Faculty Council meeting of the year.

Greg Schmaltz – Awesome Achievement Award for overall excellence in academic endeavors

Greg’s dedication and commitment to the Faculty of Science, especially to Biology, has been commendable. He has served as Biology Department Head for the past 2+ years and continues to be a respected member of the department and university as a whole. His teaching excellence is undeniable. Greg’s ornithology research expertise is acknowledged internationally and he sits on the Board of Directors of the Blue Heron Nature Reserve. Greg’s commitment and dedication to excellence in all aspects of academia makes him a worthy recipient of this year’s Awesome Achievement Award!

Vanessa Radzimski – Terrific Teaching Award for instructional excellence

Vanessa started her career at UFV in 2018 and has since become a strong and respected teacher. Her dedication to student learning and their success has made her the perfect recipient of this year’s Terrific Teaching Award! The Math and Stats Department are very lucky to have such a remarkable role model.

Jake Spooner – Remarkable Research for excellence in scientific endeavors

Jake is a new Assistant Professor in Chemistry, although he has been with UFV for several years as a sessional. He has applied for several grants and was recently awarded funding for his research. He continues to work on his publications and training students. His commitment and dedication to research makes Jake a worthy recipient of the year’s Remarkable Research Award!

Carin Bondar – Outstanding Outreach for excellence in community outreach events

Carin is an adjunct faculty member in Biology and a sessional in both Biology and SLUEC. Her work as a science communicator has her involved in the community. She’s appeared on TV, internet programming and on stage speaking to young ladies about careers in science. She’s participated in social media panels, science fair judging, and is a member of the Chilliwack School Board. The contributions she has made to our community makes Carin a worthy recipient of this year’s Outstanding Outreach Award!

Pedro Montoya-Pelaez – Superb Service for outstanding performance of service duties (Faculty)

Pedro’s service to Chemistry, Science and the University at large has been exceptional and appreciated by all who have dealt with him. He is the faculty’s representative on Senate as well as our representative on the Academic Planning and Priorities Committee (APPC). Pedro is always willing to jump in and help provide service for our faculty events such as the Fraser Valley Regional Science Fair, school visits, new student orientation, just to name a few. His continued commitment and dedication makes him a worthy recipient of this year’s Superb Faculty Service Award!

Michelle Morier – Superb Service for outstanding performance of service duties (Staff)

Michelle’s dedication to the Agriculture Technology Department, Faculty of Science and to the UFV Community as a whole has not gone unnoticed. She is the Program Coordinator for Agriculture and has always gone above and beyond. She has been a key part in organizing outreach events for the department such as UFV Open House events and the yearly Pacific Agriculture Show. We are very lucky to have a such a wonderful role model for our faculty, staff and students.  For these reasons, Michelle is the perfect choice for this year’s award!