Congratulations to the 2020 Faculty of Science AAA Award Recipients!

Each year the Dean of Science in consultation with the department heads decide the recipients of these awards. They were announced at our final Faculty Council meeting of the year.

Kseniya Garaschuk – Awesome Achievement Award, for overall excellence in academic endeavors.

Kseniya’s teaching excellence is undeniable. Her dedication to student learning has not gone unnoticed! She’s received rave reviews from her students … “A 6/5“, “Kseniya for President“, “Best Prof ever!“, “I hated math until I met Kseniya!“, etc, etc … These are amazing testaments to her teaching abilities. In terms of scholarly/research work, her work with Math Education, training of students and colleagues, and many workshop contributions with the Pacific Institute for Mathematical Sciences (PIMS) have been influential, as is her active participation with the Canadian Mathematical Society, including being the Contributing Editor for Education Notes with CMS. Her service to the profession and the UFV community has been exemplary contributing in key University committees and representing the Faculty of Science in various groups, as well as organizing the 2nd Math Education Sq’ep workshop. Her commitment and dedication makes her a worthy recipient of this year’s Awesome Achievement Award!

Golfam Ghafourifar – Terrific Teaching Award, for instructional excellence

Golfam has done a great job this past year teaching intro and upper level chemistry courses to a large number of students. Her teaching evaluation scores averaging overall 4 or greater. Her commitment and  dedication to mentoring her team of student researchers with scarce resources is remarkable.

Her students praise her knowledge and ability to teach, tutor and train them in the difficult subjects of analytical chemistry. Her patience and perseverance are appreciated and makes her a worthy recipient of this year’s Terrific Teaching Award!

Lenore Newman – Remarkable Research, for excellence in scientific research endeavors

Lenore’s contributions to Agriculture and Food Security have been recognized nationally and internationally for many years and has put UFV at the forefront. Her commitment and dedication to research makes her a worthy recipient of the year’s Remarkable Research Award!



Sharon Gillies – Outstanding Outreach, for excellence in community outreach events

Her work over the past year (and many before) with the Fraser Valley Region, Abbotsford Community, Indigenous students, and our many science students have been noteworthy. Your grant with the Fraser Valley Real Estate Board, contributions to CityStudio and overall great citizenship, makes her a worthy recipient of this year’s Outstanding Outreach Award!



Ben Vanderlei – Superb Service Academic, for outstanding performance of service duties

Ben has a record of outstanding service to UFV including representing Science in several institutional committees, including UEC. This past year, his expert leadership chairing the Bioinformatics Program working group led to the approval of this new certificate at UFV. He also continues to volunteer his time in many outreach events put forth by the Faculty or the department which includes Math Challengers and the Fraser Valley Regional Science Fair. His continued commitment and dedication makes him a worthy recipient of this year’s Superb Faculty Service Award!

Janice Nagtegaal – Superb Service Staff, for outstanding performance of service duties

Janice’s commitment and dedication to the Faculty of Science and the UFV Community has not gone unnoticed. Her work behind the scenes has helped the Faculty of Science run smoothly this past year. We are very lucky to have such a remarkable role model for our faculty, staff and students! She is, without a doubt, the perfect recipient of this year’s Superb Staff Service Award!