Congratulations to the 2021 Faculty of Science AAA Award Recipients!

Each year the Dean of Science in consultation with the department heads decide the recipients of these awards. They were announced at our final Faculty Council meeting of the year.

Stefania Pizzirani and Afia Raja – Co-recipients of the Awesome Achievement Award, for overall excellence in academic endeavors

It was a difficult decision to give out only one award this year as both Stefania and Afia are so deserving, so this year for the first time we’ve awarded both as co-recipients of the Awesome Achievement Award!

Their teaching excellence has been undeniable. They both have received letters acknowledging the high evaluations they have received from students in the various courses they’ve taught. Many of these courses are taught to a large number of students.

Stefania and Afia have made distinct contributions to their respective areas of expertise and have been influential. Although both have only been at UFV for a short period, they are making great strides toward tenure! Their service to the profession and the UFV community has been exemplary contributing in key University committees and representing the Faculty of Science in various groups.

Their commitment and dedication to excellence in all aspects of Academia make both Stefania and Afia worthy recipients of this year’s Awesome Achievement Award!

Linus Chiang – Terrific Teaching Award, for instructional excellence

Linus has done a stellar job these past few years teaching upper level chemistry courses to a large number of students. His teaching evaluation scores averaging overall 4.5 or greater and continues to do a terrific job in mentoring a large team of student researchers. His students continue to praise his knowledge and ability to teach, tutor and train them in the difficult subjects of inorganic chemistry. Linus’ patience and perseverance are appreciated and makes him a worthy recipient of this year’s Terrific Teaching Award!

James Bedard – Remarkable Research, for excellence in scientific research endeavors

James’ contributions to the advancement of research activities at UFV has been exceptional. He has created innovative courses engaging students in genomics research, and has mentored well over 120 undergraduate students during his tenure at UFV. His commitment and dedication to research makes him a worthy recipient of the year’s Remarkable Research Award!

Tim Cooper – Outstanding Outreach, for excellence in community outreach events

Tim’s work educating the public and many of our science students about climate issues over the past several years (and many before) within the Fraser Valley region and Abbotsford Community has been noteworthy. His civic engagement and willingness to run as a Green Party candidate as well as being involved in other community projects makes him a worthy recipient of this year’s Outstanding Outreach Award!

Ian Affleck – Superb Service Academic, for outstanding performance of service duties

Ian has served as Department Head of Math and Stats for the past six years. His service to the Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Faculty of Science as a whole and the University at large has been exceptional and appreciated by all who have dealt with him. His continued commitment and dedication makes him a worthy recipient of this year’s Superb Faculty Service Award!

Margret Bollerup – Superb Service Staff, for outstanding performance of service duties

Margret’s commitment and dedication to the Department of the Mathematics and Statistics, Faculty of Science and the UFV Community has not gone unnoticed. We are very lucky to have such a remarkable role model for our faculty, staff and students! She is, without a doubt, the perfect recipient of this year’s Superb Staff Service Award!