University of the Fraser Valley

Student researchers recognized at awards night

Student researchers recognized at awards night

More than 40 student researchers were honoured May 31 at the annual Undergraduate Research Excellence Awards, held in person for the first time since 2019.

Nafeel Arshad and Heather Kelly, both of whom had presented at the microlecture event earlier this year, addressed the audience on behalf of students. Congratulations to all the recipients.


Community Service Research AwardSarah Thomasen – Child, Youth, and Family Studies

Indigenous Research AwardShelby Davis – Teacher Education

Carlanna Thompson – History.

College of Arts AwardsOlivia Daniel — AnthropologyMaegen Sargent — Art History Avitasha Chand — Communications
Daniela Castroparedes Herrera — Criminology & Criminal Justice
Adena Penner — EconomicsCaroline Zenky — English
Colby Stinson — History
Thomas Wilson — Media and Communication StudiesIan Boese — PhilosophyAdam Magalhaes — Political Science
Michelle Grafton — PsychologyBrooke Higginbottom — SociologyMia Davison — Theatre

Faculty of Health Sciences awardsKatrina Frankenberger — KinesiologyNicole Cusick — Nursing

Faculty of Professional Studies awardsAddy Schnider — BusinessTrisha Kumar — Business
Chanzo Muema — Computing
Faculty of ScienceHeather Kelly — BiologyBach Nguyen — ChemistryJennifer Heidt — Environmental Studies

Faculty of Education, Community, and Human DevelopmentLauren Rae Peterson – Teacher EducationSara Hoffman – Social Work and Human Services

Student Research Day awards

Heather Kelly -‐ Biology
Curtis Plug -‐ Chemistry
Jordan McEvoy -‐ Psychology
Jose Toffoli — Physic s& Mechatronics
Jennifer Heidt — Environmental Studies
Lisa Horton — Environmental Studies
Samantha Motola — Psychology
Katrina Frankenberger -‐ Kinesiology
Daylan Pritchard — Biology
Nicole Cusick — Nursing
Leah Hamm ‐- Agriculture

BC Graduate scholarships

Rebecca Edwards (MSW)
Joshua Millar (MSW)

NSERC Undergraduate student research awards

Ziana Kambere, Computer Information Systems; Faculty Researcher: Gabriel Murray

Heather Kelly, Biology; Faculty Researcher: Justin Lee

Ryan Goldbach, Biology; Faculty Researcher: Lucy Lee

Connor Frey, Chemistry; Faculty Researcher: Golfam Ghafourifar

Rachel Sailer, Chemistry; Faculty Researcher: Linus Chiang

Vanessa Brewer, Geography; Faculty Researcher: Olav Lian

2022 Undergraduate Research Excellence Awards