Nominations sought for UFV’s Teaching Excellence and Research Excellence awards

UFV is once again looking to recognize excellence in teaching and research among its faculty members.

The nomination deadline for both the Teaching Excellence and the Research Excellence awards  — presented annually at UFV Convocation — is Fri, Feb. 7.

Teaching Excellence:

Nominations are encouraged from faculty, students, alumni, and staff to recognize excellent UFV faculty and lab instructors who have completed two years of instruction, or sessional instructors who have completed the equivalent time.

Teaching Excellence Award selection criteria include mentorship, attention to student learning in the instructional environment and coursework, respect for students, integration of scholarship, and professional activity.

First given in 2000, past recipients include Linda Pardy, Sheryl MacMath, Chris Bertram, Glen Baier, Sven VandeWetering, Adrienne Chan, Darryl Plecas, Wendy Burton, George McGuire, Elvira Warner, George Melzer, Greg Anderson, and Katherine Watson.

Nomination packages can be downloaded from or picked up from Lisa McMartin (B303 — Abbotsford campus). Completed nomination packages should be submitted to the attention of Lisa McMartin, assistant to the university secretary, Abbotsford campus (B303).

For more information, contact Lisa McMartin at 604-504-7441, local 5114, or

Research Excellence:

Now entering its third year, the Research Excellence Award looks to honour exemplary UFV fulltime (B)  faculty who have completed their probationary period, or sessional instructors who have a cumulative equivalent of two years of teaching time at UFV.

B-category faculty, sessional faculty, or university administrators can nominate candidates for this award, which includes a plaque, a framed certificate, and an award of $2,500, which will administered by the university in order to support the award recipient’s continuing research development.

Selection criteria include innovation, academic impact, mentorship, and interface of teaching and research. Emphasis is placed on work accomplished as a member of the UFV community, but may include additional achievements within the past five years. Previous winners include Noham Weinberg and Olav Lian.

Completed nomination packages should be submitted confidentially to Linda Dahl, Research Services, G290 Abbotsford campus. For more information contact Linda Dahl, 604-557-4011 or

Nomination packages can be downloaded here.


Comments are closed.