CCAA announces 2013 National Championship Draw

Lloydminster, Alberta – The Lakeland Rustlers are ready to take on the country’s best women’s volleyball teams.

Eight squads have qualified for the 2013 CCAA Women’s Volleyball National Championship presented by Viterra, taking place March 6-9 in Lloydminster, Alta. The three-day CCAA national championship will be the centrepiece of Lakeland College’s centennial celebrations.

Seeing the Fraser Valley Cascades earn gold in B.C. wasn’t a surprise; they ranked first in both the CCAA and PACWEST championship. It was the Columbia Bearcats who defied expectations by overcoming 2012 CCAA national champions the VIU Mariners to earn both a spot in the championship and a PACWEST silver medal.

Alberta’s provincial championship came down to a five-set nail-biter between the NAIT Ooks and Lakeland Rustlers; NAIT won gold and Lakeland kicks off their hosting duties armed with an ACAC silver medal.

The Humber Hawks continue to dominate the game in Ontario, earning their sixth consecutive OCAA provincial title!

Meanwhile, the Lynx d’Édouard-Monpetit took gold over the Élans de Garneau at the RSEQ conference finals in Quebec, and both squads have qualified for nationals.

The ACAA conference berth will be filled by the MSVU Mystics, who’ve dominated with an undefeated 18-0 regular season record.

Participating teams have been seeded in the following order:

1  Fraser Valley Cascades  PACWEST champions  Abbotsford, B.C.
2  Lynx d’Édouard-Montpetit   RSEQ champions  Longueuil, Que.
3  Humber Hawks  OCAA champions  Etobicoke, Ont.
4  NAIT Ooks  ACAC champions  Edmonton, Alta.
5  Élans de Garneau  RSEQ silver medallists  Québec, Que.
6  Lakeland Rustlers  CCAA host / ACAC silver medallists   Lloydminister, Alta.
7  Columbia Bearcats  PACWEST silver medallists  Abbotsford, B.C. 
8  MSVU Mystics  ACAA champions  Halifax, N.S.

The CCAA Championship Awards Banquet will precede the competition, beginning at 6:30 p.m. on Wednesday, March 6. The competition will begin Thursday, March 7 and runs through Saturday, March 10.

The schedule is as follows (all times MST):

Thursday March 7

Game #1  1pm  NAIT Ooks vs Élans de Garneau
Game #2  3pm  Fraser Valley Cascades vs MSVU Mystics
Game #3  6pm  Lynx d’Édouard-Monpetit vs Columbia Bearcats
Game #4  8pm  Humber Hawks vs Lakeland Rustlers

Friday March 8

Game #5  1pm  Losers of game 1 & 2
Game #6  3pm  Losers of game 3 & 4
Game #7  6pm  Winners of game 1 & 2 (semi-final)
Game #8  8pm  Winners of game 3 & 4 (semi-final)

Saturday March 9

Game #9  10am  Losers of game 7 & Winners of game 6
Game #10  12pm  Losers of game 8 vs. Winners of game 5
Game #11  2pm  Losers of game 5 & 6 (7th/8th place)
Game #12  6pm  Winners of game 9 & 10 (Bronze Medal)
Game #13  8pm  Winners of game 7 & 8 (Gold Medal)

The closing ceremony and awards presentation will take place immediately following the gold medal match.

Lakeland College is pleased to bring you the latest results, news and photos from the 2013 CCAA Women’s Volleyball National Championship presented by Viterra website. Updates are also available on Facebook and Twitter.

The CCAA and Lakeland College would like to thank our national sponsors for their support and efforts in making this CCAA national championship possible:

adidas Canada Official Apparel Brand of the CCAA
Big Kahuna Official Retailer of the CCAA
Carlson Wagonlit Travel Official Travel Agency of the CCAA
Jostens Official Supplier of the CCAA Championship Awards Banquet
Molten V5M5000 Official Volleyball of the CCAA
Sport Canada Major Funding Partner
WestJet Preferred Airline of the CCAA



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply